College Sports Eligibility

National College Athletic Association (NCAA)- There are three divisions of the NCAA.  
  • Division I is the largest division and includes schools like MSU, UofM, Central Michigan, Western Michigan, and Eastern Michigan.
  • Division II is the second largest division and includes schools like Ferris State, Wayne State, Saginaw Valley, Grand Valley, Northern Michigan, and Michigan Tech.  Both Division I and Division II schools require students to register with the NCAA Eligibility Center.  The NCAA Eligibility Center will verify that students have a high enough GPA and ACT or SAT score.  They will also make sure the student has taken enough core classes. It is very important that students meet with the counselor early in their high school year to be sure they are on a path to be NCAA Division I or II eligible if they think they might play college sports at that level.  
  • Division III is the smallest division of NCAA schools.  Division III includes private schools like Hope, Adrian, Alma, and Olivet Colleges.  Division III schools do not require NCAA  Eligibility Center clearance. However, they are generally harder to get in academically.  Also, Division III schools do not offer athletic scholarships.  See the brochure attached below for a breakdown of eligibility standards for all NCAA levels.
National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA)- The NAIA has only one division.  
  • NAIA includes schools like Aquinas, Concordia, Madonna and Spring Arbor Colleges.  The NIA has an Eligibility Center that students must register with. However, they do not require specific courses like the NCAA.    
Chad Phillips,
Dec 1, 2015, 9:44 AM
Chad Phillips,
Dec 1, 2015, 9:24 AM